Stars at Night

The Neighbor List

The perfect neighborhood. The perfect murder.

When Jessica Millstone moves back into her childhood home with her husband and three-year-old daughter, her nightly walks around the leafy suburban Detroit neighborhood provide a momentary break from the monotony of motherhood and her increasingly strained marriage. But one night, a rustling noise in the bushes shatters her peaceful stroll. When she catches sight of her notoriously cantankerous neighbor, Barbara Scruggs, yelling at her through an upstairs window, Jessica races home to avoid a confrontation.

When Barbara’s son finds his mom dead in the bathtub the following morning, the authorities are quick to rule the older woman’s death an accident. But Jessica saw and heard things the night Barbara died and believes something more sinister was at play. Barbara’s unpopular posts and negative reviews on an app called The Neighbor List left her with a town full of enemies. As troubling clues and past secrets begin to surface, everyone in the neighborhood becomes a suspect, and Jessica fears the killer might be closer than she imagined. So close that Jessica might be the next victim.

 

A deeply compelling suspense novel that will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, The Couple Next Door and The Woman in the Window.

(Forthcoming from Bookouture, November 3rd, 2021)

The Girl Before Me.png

Lily rushes into the apartment, shouting with joy as she claims the small pink bedroom as perfect for her. ‘Mama, I love it here. I love our new home. We’re going to be so happy, Mama, aren’t we?’

 

When Kaitlin moves into a new apartment with her young daughter, Lily, it’s with a huge sense of relief. After getting out of a difficult relationship with Lily’s dad, this perfect fourth floor apartment in Chicago's Lincoln Park neighborhood withing walking distance to the zoo and the lake, feels like the new beginning she deserves at last.

 

It’s a place to call home. A place for them to grow together. A place for them to heal. And, as feelings begin to develop for her new neighbor, Alex, who lives in Apartment C, just next door, she dares to hope that her life is looking up.

Until a handwritten letter arrives for someone called Annie. Alex said she was just the tenant before, who moved out one day without leaving a forwarding address. Tentatively Kaitlin opens it, intending to return it to the sender if there’s an address in there. But the note just says ‘Annie. I’m scared for you. You’re not safe there. You know you have to get out. Before it’s too late.’ 

Something happened to Annie. And Kaitlin is not nearly as safe as she thinks she is…

(Forthcoming from Bookouture, April 29th, 2022)

Never Miss a New Release!
Follow me on BookBub

or Amazon,
or sign up below!